SOU In the News: June 14 – 20

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

CSU Stanislaus – Eight Golden Grads Relive Their 1966 Stan State Commencement (SOU’s Paul Adalian featured): https://www.csustan.edu/alumni-news/june-2016/eight-golden-grads-relive-their-1966-stan-state-commencement

Oxford University Press – How to Write a Thank You Note (feature by Professor Edwin Battistella): http://blog.oup.com/2016/06/how-to-write-a-thank-you-note/

Mail Tribune – Former SOU VP Earl Potter Mourned by Colleagues in Two States: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160615/NEWS/160619760/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Former SOU Provost Earl Potter, 69, Dies in Auto Accident: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160615/NEWS/160619890/0/SEARCH

KOBI – Former SOU Provost Early Potter Dies: https://kobi5.com/news/former-s-o-u-provost-earl-potter-dies-29407/

Minneapolis Star Tribune – SCSU President’s Death Felt in St. Cloud and Beyond: http://www.startribune.com/scsu-president-s-death-is-felt-in-st-cloud-and-beyond/383038351/

For additional coverage of former SOU Provost Early Potter’s death, click on https://news.google.com/news/story?ncl=http://www.fox9.com/news/158965800-story&hl=en&geo=US

KOBI – Teachers Crossing the Line (Professor Echo Fields featured): https://kobi5.com/news/teachers-crossing-the-line-29666/

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Daily Tidings – Quills & Queues: Oregon Center for the Arts in Ashland a Hub for Multiple Media: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160616/NEWS/160619856/0/SEARCH

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

KDRV – Update: SOU Officials Announce New President: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Watch_Live_SOU_Officials_Discuss_Appointment_of_Next_President.html

KOBI – SOU Names New President: https://kobi5.com/news/sou-names-new-president-29288/

KTVL – Next SOU President Named: http://ktvl.com/news/local/next-sou-president-named

Daily Tidings – U of Maine President Chosen to Lead SOU: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160613/NEWS/160619933/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – United SOU Board Picks Schott as President: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160613/NEWS/160619835/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Names Linda Schott as its New President: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160613/NEWS/160619841/0/SEARCH

Oregonian – Southern Oregon University Searched Far and Wide to Find Its New President: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/06/southern_oregon_university_sea.html#incart_river_index

Washington Times – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/jun/14/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-/

KAJO – Southern Oregon University Board of Trustees Names Schott as New President: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1465884006&ucat=2,4

WAGM – UMPI President Accepts Job at Southern Oregon University: http://www.wagmtv.com/content/news/UMPI-President-accepts-job-at-University-of-Southern-Oregon-382855981.html

Portland Press Herald – University of Maine at Presque Isle President Leaving: http://www.pressherald.com/2016/06/13/university-of-maine-at-presque-isle-president-leaving/

Bangor Daily News – UMPI President Announces Departure for Oregon Post: https://bangordailynews.com/2016/06/13/news/aroostook/umpi-president-announces-departure-for-oregon-post/?ref=moreInaroostook

JPR – Dr. Linda Schott Named President of Southern Oregon University: http://ijpr.org/post/dr-linda-schott-named-president-southern-oregon-university

Daily Tidings – New President Was ‘On Everybody’s Priority List’: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160614/NEWS/160619905/0/SEARCH

KTVZ – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.ktvz.com/news/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/40046442

Odessa American – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.oaoa.com/article_1e61a988-d13b-578d-a745-efeff4398527.html

Corvallis Gazette Times – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.gazettetimes.com/news/state-and-regional/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/article_b8ad9a14-d5f4-5605-90d3-80198b2c934b.html

Walla Walla Union Bulletin – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.union-bulletin.com/news/northwest/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/article_4614f649-4078-58a6-9efa-f7467184862d.html

Maine Public Broadcasting – Umaine at Presque Isle President to Head Southern Oregon University: http://news.mpbn.net/post/umaine-presque-isle-president-head-southern-oregon-university#stream/0

East Oregonian – Southern Oregon University Finds Its News President in Maine: http://www.eastoregonian.com/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine-eo-ap-webfeeds-news-northwestbba54d8ad81446cf8798b64b758bf02a

Bryan-College Station Eagle – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.theeagle.com/news/nation/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/article_04ba4022-664c-53bf-a730-9facc8302faa.html

WCSH – Southern Oregon University Finds Its News President in Maine: http://www.wcsh6.com/news/local/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/243698441

Clay Center Dispatch – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.ccenterdispatch.com/news/state/article_0b63f65d-2379-5e43-a17d-4a07452810a2.html

Foster’s Daily Democrat – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.fosters.com/article/20160614/AP01/306149987/-1/FOSNEWS

Salem Statesman Journal – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/news/education/2016/06/14/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-maine/85861970/

WLBZ – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.wlbz2.com/news/local/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine/243698817

Daily Astorian – Southern Oregon University Finds Its New President in Maine: http://www.dailyastorian.com/southern-oregon-university-find-its-new-president-in-maine-da-ap-webfeeds-news-northwestbba54d8ad81446cf8798b64b758bf02a

Daily Tidings – Our View: A New Chapter for SOU: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160616/OPINION/160619881/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Trustees Liked New President Schott from the First: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160616/NEWS/160619696/0/SEARCH

Chronicle of Higher Education: Appointments, Resignations, Deaths: http://chronicle.com/article/Appointments-Resignations/236857

 

Miscellaneous News:

KDRV – Students Prepare for Gathering to Honor Orlando Shooting Victims: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Students_Prepare_for_Gathering_to_Honor_Orlando_Shooting_Victims.html

Daily Tidings – Our View: Siskiyou Survives: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160614/OPINION/160619935/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Guest Opinion: Diversity Benefits and Enriches All of Us: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160619/OPINION/160619661/0/SEARCH