SOU In the News: April 5 – 18

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Mail Tribune – Obituary: Bradford “Brad” David Lowe: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160329/OBITUARIES/160329653/0/SEARCH

KDRV – Ashland Woman Appointed to Oregon Heritage Commission (feature on SOULA’s Chelsea Rose): http://www.kdrv.com/news/Ashland_Woman_Appointed_.html

Oxford University Press Blog – Shakespeare’s Linguistic Legacy (feature by Professor Edwin Battistella): http://blog.oup.com/2016/04/shakespeare-linguistic-legacy/

Reader’s Digest – 9 Ways You Secretly Sabotage Your Apology When you Say Sorry (featuring Professor Edwin Battistella): http://www.rd.com/slideshows/saying-sorry-mistakes/

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

JPR – The Jefferson Exchange: Getting Through SOU in Three Years: http://ijpr.org/post/getting-through-sou-three-years

Mail Tribune – SOU Leadership Program Accepting Applications: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160407/NEWS/160409669

JPR – Jefferson Exchange: Oregon Finds Few “Hang Up and Drive” (feature on SOU student research project with ODOT): http://ijpr.org/post/oregon-finds-few-hang-and-drive

KAJO – SOU Research Team Helping ODOT Strengthen Oregon Distracted Driving Laws: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1460353378&ucat=2

 

News on SOU Environment and Sustainability Initiatives:

Statesman Journal – Global Warming is a Hot Topic for Oregon Students: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/news/education/2016/04/06/global-warming-hot-topic-oregon-students/82429332/

JPR – Jefferson Exchange: Rogue Valley Cities Head the Bee City USA List (SOU featured as Bee Campus USA): http://ijpr.org/post/fri-830-rogue-valley-cities-head-bee-city-usa-list

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Mail Tribune – Schneider Museum Presents ‘In Scene’: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160404/ENTERTAINMENT/160409988/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – ‘In Scene’ at Schneider Museum of Art: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160407/NEWS/160409835/0/SEARCH

 

News on Recent and Upcoming SOU Events:

Daily Tidings – Ashland Pollinators Conference Will Feature Bee City USA Leader: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160412/NEWS/160419935/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – Earth Week is HERE!: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/04/18/earth-week-is-here/

KOBI – SOU Plans Full Schedule of Events for Earth Week: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/sou-plans-full-schedule-of-events-for-earth-week-25784/

KDRV – Businesses Promote Local Food and Wellness for Earth Week: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Businesses_Promote_Local_Food__Wellness_for_Earth_Week.html

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

Register-Guard – College Aid is for those Who Need it: http://registerguard.com/rg/opinion/34216427-78/college-aid-is-for-those-who-need-it.html.csp

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Higher Ed Reading List: What a 2013 Oregon Audit Said About Relying on Out-of-State Students: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/04/higher_ed_reading_list_what_a.html#incart_river_index

Oregonian/Oregon Live – The Good News About Enrollment in Oregon’s Public Colleges and Universities (OPINION): http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2016/04/the_good_news_about_enrollment.html#incart_river_index

The Washington Times – Oregon Moves Neediest to Front of Line for College Funds: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/mar/28/oregon-moves-neediest-to-front-of-line-for-college/

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Report: More Oregonians Attend College But Don’t Finish Degrees than National Average: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/04/report_more_oregonians_attend.html#incart_river_home

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

KOBI – SOU to Raise Tuition, Fees Starting this Fall: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/sou-to-raise-tuition-fees-starting-this-fall-25757/

 

Miscellaneous News:

The Siskiyou – April Fools Stabbing No Joke: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/04/06/april-fools-stabbing-no-joke/

KDRV – More than 100 Workers to Receive $924,000 from SOU Wage Settlement: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/More_Than_100_Workers_to_Receive_924000_from_SOU_Wage_Settlement.html

KTVL – Workers from Southern Oregon University Project to Receive Settlement: http://ktvl.com/news/local/workers-from-southern-oregon-university-project-to-receive-settlement

Daily Tidings – Final $924K to go Out to SOU Project Workers: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160405/NEWS/160409898/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – A Letter from a Former Siskiyou Writer: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/04/11/a-letter-from-a-former-siskiyou-writer/

KOBI – Students Fight to Save Campus Newspaper: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/students-fight-to-save-campus-newspaper-25410/

KTVL – 21-Year-Old Formally Charged in Ashland Stabbing: http://ktvl.com/news/local/21-year-old-formally-charged-in-ashland-stabbing

KTVL – Southern Oregon University Students Trying to Save Online Student Newspaper: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-trying-to-save-its-online-student-newspaper

Mail Tribune – SOU Pulls the Plug on Student Newspaper: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160408/NEWS/160409631/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Pulls the Plug on Student Newspaper: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160410/NEWS/160419991/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Silenced Siskiyou: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160415/OPINION/160419893/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Our View: Student Newspaper Informs and Educates: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160415/OPINION/160419759/0/SEARCH

Student Press Law Center – Southern Oregon University Student Journalists Fight to Save 90-Year-Old Publication: http://www.splc.org/article/2016/04/southern-oregon-university

Daily Tidings – Unprecedented Plan for Private College Off Buckhorn Springs Faces Myriad Hurdles (SOU mentioned): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160417/NEWS/160419816/0/SEARCH