SOU In the News: Feb. 2 – 8

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Daily Tidings – Teaching the Teachers: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160201/NEWS/160209980/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – ‘Big Craig’ Left Imprint on Valley: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160202/SPORTS/160209950/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Dick’s Sporting Goods to Build 89,000-Square-Foot Medford Store (Professor Joan McBee featured): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160202/NEWS/160209961/0/SEARCH

KOBI – Friends and Fellow Teammates Mourn the Loss of SOU Student: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/friends-and-former-teammates-mourn-the-loss-of-sou-student-21043/

Oxford Dictionary Blog – Regretoric: The Rise of the Nonapology Apology and the Apology Tour: http://blog.oxforddictionaries.com/2016/02/nonapology-apology-tour/

KDRV – Dutch Bros. to Honor SOU Student Feb. 9: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Dutch_Bros_to_Honor_SOU_Student_Feb_9.html

ESPN – David Laney Taking His Ultra-Running Success to the Roads: http://espn.go.com/sports/endurance/story/_/id/14714324/endurance-sports-marathon-trials-different-challenge-ultra-champion-david-laney

Statesman Journal – A Little Bit of Spain Taking Root in Oregon (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/life/2016/02/05/little-bit-spain-taking-root-oregon/79864240/

KTVL – Wrestlers and Soldiers Honor Teammate: http://ktvl.com/news/local/wrestlers-and-soldiers-honor-teammate

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Colleges Collaborating, Teaching Innovative Programs for Tomorrow’s Emerging Careers: http://blog.oregonlive.com/education_plus/2016/01/colleges_collaborating_teachin.html

 

News on Recent and Upcoming SOU Events:

The Siskiyou – Bon Appetit!: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/05/bon-appetit/

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

Register Guard – Sen. Wyden: As Election Looms, College Affordability Comes to the Forefront: http://registerguard.com/rg/news/local/33978810-75/wyden-highlights-education.html.csp#

Inside Higher Ed – Geography Matters: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2016/02/03/when-students-enroll-college-geography-matters-more-policy-makers-think?utm_source=Inside+Higher+Ed&utm_campaign=2a29ad0a73-DNU20160203&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_1fcbc04421-2a29ad0a73-198630913

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

KTVL – SOU Searches for New President: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-searches-for-new-president

 

Miscellaneous News:

The Siskiyou – SOU Kidnapping Ruled as Hoax: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/02/sou-kidnapping-ruled-as-hoax/

KOBI – Possible Kidnapping Reported at Southern Oregon University: https://kobi5.com/news/possible-kidnapping-reported-at-southern-oregon-university-20995/

KTVL – SOU Student Remembered: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-student-remembered

KDRV – Police Say Reported Kidnapping Was a Hoax: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Says_Possible_Kidnapping_Reported_.html

Daily Tidings – Students Want a Ban on Banning Students: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160201/NEWS/160209976/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Rental Roulette: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160203/OPINION/160209964/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – Students Seek Fair Housing Policies: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/04/students-seek-fair-housing-policies/

The Siskiyou – Student Housing: Breaking it Down: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/04/student-housing-breaking-it-down/

KTVL – SOU Student Group Supports Clean Energy Campaign: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-support-clean-energy-campaign

Daily Tidings – The High Cost of Debt: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160204/NEWS/160209928/0/SEARCH

KAJO – Students Fighting for Renewable Energy Production: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1454832525&ucat=2