SOU In the News: Jan. 24 – 30

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

KOBI – Governor Kitzhaber Focuses on Education in Rogue Valley Visit: http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/gov-kitzhaber-focused-on-education-in-rogue-valley-visit.html?category_id=3#.VMZwGC4YFdc

KDRV – SOU’s “You Have Options” Program in 20/20 Spotlight: http://www.kdrv.com/you-have-options-in-national-spotlight/

KATU – Watch 20/20 Tonight: Giving Rape Survivors the Control: http://www.katu.com/news/local/Watch-2020-tonight-Giving-rape-survivors-the-control-289628081.html

ABC News (20/20 Program) – Student Learns Boyfriend Sexually Assaulted Her While She Was Asleep:

Pt. 1: http://abcnews.go.com/2020/video/student-learns-boyfriend-sexually-assaulted-asleep-28447125

Pt. 2: http://abcnews.go.com/2020/video/police-set-sting-record-student-admitting-sexual-assault-28447173

Daily Tidings – Schneider Museum of Art Holds Family Day: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150125/NEWS/150129910/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Black Panther Founder to Speak at SOU: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150126/NEWS/150129788/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Since You Asked: SOU Has Gone Through Many Monikers: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150125/NEWS/150129790/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Black Panther Founder Still Fights for Justice: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150125/NEWS/150129913/0/SEARCH

NBC Sports – NAIA National Champs Asking for Donations to Buy Championship Rings: http://collegefootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2015/01/26/naia-national-champs-asking-for-donations-to-buy-championship-rings/

MovieMaker – Best Places to Live and Work as a Moviemaker 2015: http://www.moviemaker.com/archives/news/best-places-live-work-moviemaker-2015-top-five-towns/5/

Go Local PDX – 10 Oregon Colleges with the Most Reported Crime: http://www.golocalpdx.com/news/10-oregon-colleges-with-the-most-reported-crime

Daily Tidings – Howard Named NAIA Coach of the Year: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150128/SPORTS/150129869/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Following Stafford’s Threads: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150127/NEWS/150129689/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Southern Oregon University Zeroes in on First Men’s Soccer Coach: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150128/SPORTS/150129858/0/SEARCH

Herald and News – SOU Football Coach Named NAIA Coach of the Year: http://www.heraldandnews.com/sports/college/sou-football-coach-named-naia-coach-of-the-year/article_6baca586-a6c0-11e4-bf98-a7ca55912301.html

JPR – The Jefferson Exchange: Homelessness So Close It Can’t Be Ignored (audio in link): http://ijpr.org/post/homelessness-so-close-it-cant-be-ignored

The Oregonian – SOU’s Craig Howard Named Rawlings NAIA Coach of the Year: http://blog.oregonlive.com/cascadeconference/2015/01/sous_craig_howard_named_rawlin.html

Daily Tidings – Learning on the Job: Business Students Master Their Craft While Helping a Local Timber Business: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150129/NEWS/150129838/101059/NEWS

Mail Tribune – Since You Asked: Students Who Owe Can Be Blocked From Classes: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150130/NEWS/150139989/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Ashland Named Best Town for Movie Makers: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150129/NEWS/150129849/0/SEARCH

KOBI – The Harsh Reality of Coming Out (features SOU student): http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/the-harsh-reality-of-coming-out.html?category_id=3#.VMulVi4YFdc

Seed Quest – Southern Oregon University Receives Gift from Territorial Seed Company: http://www.seedquest.com/news.php?type=news&id_article=58519&id_region=&id_category=&id_crop=

JPR – Next Steps on Ashland Biomass Project (Audio included in link): http://ijpr.org/post/next-steps-ashland-biomass-project

SOU In the News: Jan. 17 – 23

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Mail Tribune – A Look at the Life and Vision of Martin Luther King Jr.: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150116/ENTERTAINMENT/150119793/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – MLK Jr. Celebration: “Progress is Not Inevitable”: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150118/NEWS/150119631/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – Raiders Soccer – What’s Next for New Team: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/01/21/raiders-soccer-whats-next-for-the-new-team/

ABC News – Southern Oregon University Program Helps Student Who Was Raped Find Justice: http://abcnews.go.com/US/southern-oregon-university-program-helps-student-raped-find/story?id=28384783

KDRV – SOU Students Celebrate Roe v. Wade: http://www.kdrv.com/42nd-anniversary-of-roe-vs-wade/

KTVL – Ashland Named Best Filmmaking City (SOU mentioned): http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_ashland-ranked-best-filmmaking-city-15225.shtml

Daily Tidings – Local Sexual Assault Reporting Program in National TV Spotlight: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150122/NEWS/150129936/0/SEARCH

ABC News: Campus Confidential Airing on 20/20 Friday: http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2015/01/campus-confidential-airing-on-2020-friday-january-23-10-pm-et-on-abc/

SOU In the News: Jan 10 – 16

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

KOBI – Five on 5: Austin Dodge: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1icZ0ppJPo

KDRV – SOU Sees New Programs and Applications: http://www.kdrv.com/sou-sees-new-programs-and-applications/

Oregon Live – SOU Announces Additions of Men’s Soccer, Women’s Wrestling: http://blog.oregonlive.com/cascadeconference/2015/01/sou_announces_additions_of_men.html

Daily Tidings – Turning Fire Fuel Threat into Woodstove Heat (SOU Green House project): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150111/NEWS/150119986/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Students Forge Links Between Forest Health, People: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150110/NEWS/150119946/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Trophy Dash: Raiders Have Thrived Under AD Sayre: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150110/SPORTS/150119941/0/SEARCH

Herald and News – Raiders Had the Assets to Take National Football Crown: http://www.heraldandnews.com/sports/college/raiders-had-the-assets-to-take-national-football-crown/article_256f9036-9961-11e4-b87b-efe8703abbcb.html#.VLLt446N46A.facebook

Daily Tidings – Our View: Putting Slash to Work (Editorial on SOU student thinning project): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150113/OPINION/150119966/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Sayre Says Character Key to SOU Success: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150113/SPORTS/150119952/0/SEARCH

SOU In the News: Jan. 3 – 9

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Daily Tidings – Top Stories of 2014 (“Changes at SOU” No. 1, “National Champion Raiders” No. 6): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150102/NEWS/150109959/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Judge Dismisses Four of Ron Kramer’s Claims Against SOU: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150103/NEWS/150109883/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Judge Dismisses Four of Ron Kramer’s Claims Against SOU: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150103/NEWS/150109957/0/SEARCH

Daily Astorian – Judge Tosses Several Claims Against Radio Station: http://www.dailyastorian.com/judge-tosses-several-claims-against-radio-station-da-ap-webfeeds-news-northwestf5f8334e9e8b4be9b00b1608dbbc61b5

World News – SOU to Offer Professional Development Opportunities for Early Childhood Development Professionals: http://article.wn.com/view/2015/01/03/SOU_to_Offer_Professional_Development_Opportunities_for_Earl/

KAJO – Former Jefferson Public Radio Exec’s Lawsuit Largely Dismissed: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/index.php?subaction=showfull&id=1420372152&ucat=2

Washington Times – Judge Tosses Several Claims Against Radio Station: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/jan/3/judge-tosses-several-claims-against-radio-station/?utm_source=RSS_Feed&utm_medium=RSS

Mail Tribune – Raiders No. 1…Again (Top Local Sports Stories of 2014): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150105/SPORTS/150109818/0/SEARCH

KTVL – National Title Brings Victorious Vibes (video included): http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_national-title-brings-victorious-vibes-15096.shtml

World News – SOU, WOU Partner on Master’s Degree in Computer Science: http://article.wn.com/view/2015/01/08/SOU_WOU_Partner_on_Master_s_Degree_in_Computer_Science_South/

KDRV – SOU Adds Women’s Soccer, Men’s Wrestling: http://www.kdrv.com/sou-adds-mens-soccer-womens-wrestling/

KOBI – SOU Football National Championship Gear Now Available: http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/sou-football-national-championship-gear-now-being-sold.html?category_id=3#.VLAAI3sYFdc

Daily Tidings – Southern Oregon to Add Men’s Soccer, Women’s Wrestling: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150108/SPORTS/150109867/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Adds Men’s Soccer, Women’s Wrestling: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150108/SPORTS/150109671/0/SEARCH

SOU In the News: Dec. 27 – Jan. 2

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Daily Tidings – Our View: Is Flutie Effect Real? (Editorial on impact of national championship on applications to SOU): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141227/OPINION/141229911/0/SEARCH

World News – Southern Oregon University Offers Two New Courses to Community: http://article.wn.com/view/2014/12/27/SOU_Offers_Two_New_Courses_to_Community_Southern_Oregon_Univ/

The Jefferson Monthly – The Future of Education in Oregon: http://ijpr.org/post/future-education-oregon

The Huffington Post – 6 Biggest Wins for Education in 2014 (SOU mentioned in No. 2): http://www.huffingtonpost.com/matthew-lynch-edd/6-biggest-wins-for-educat_b_6395432.html

USA Today – For Fisher, Helfrich, small schools bred big-time coaches: http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/ncaaf/2014/12/31/jimbo-fisher-mark-helfrich-naia-players-rose-bowl-college-football-playoff/21106745/

Pac12.com – Positive Juju: Mark Helrich’s alma mater wins NAIA football title: http://pac-12.com/article/2014/12/30/positive-juju-mark-helfrichs-alma-mater-wins-naia-football-title

SOU Raiders.com – Year in Review: The Top 10 Stories of 2014 in Raider Athletics: http://www.souraiders.com/news/2014/12/31/GEN_1231143656.aspx

SOU In the News: Dec. 20 – 26

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Register Guard – He’s Still a Raider at Heart: http://registerguard.com/rg/sports/32569657-81/hes-stilla-raiderat-heart.html.csp

Mail Tribune – A ‘Dream Come True’ for Raiders Fans as SOU Grabs National Title: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141219/NEWS/141219560/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Cheering on the Champs: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141219/NEWS/141219800/0/SEARCH

JPR – SOU Wins NAIA National Football Title: http://ijpr.org/post/southern-oregon-u-wins-naia-national-football-title

Mail Tribune – Fans, Friends and Family Welcome Home Victorious SOU Team at Airport: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141220/NEWS/141229943/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Raiders Bring it Home: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141220/SPORTS/141229983/0/SEARCH

KDRV – SOU Raiders Return Home (video included): http://www.kdrv.com/sou-raiders-return-home/

KOBI – SOU Raiders Bring Their Title Home (video included): http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/sou-raiders-bring-their-title-home.html?category_id=3#.VJhFBECk8

Daily Tidings – Shine a Light Event Sunday at SOU Gym: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141219/NEWS/141219803/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Title Game Special for Raider Followers: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141220/SPORTS/141229965/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – For Fans Who Made the Trip, Game Special: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141220/SPORTS/141229984/0/SEARCH

KDRV – SOU Raiders Parade in Ashland (video included): http://www.kdrv.com/sou-raiders-parade-in-ashland/

KTVL – SOU Champion Football Team Gets Parade: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_sou-champion-football-team-gets-parade-14949.shtml

Mail Tribune – Raiders Parade Trophy Through Downtown Ashland: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141221/NEWS/141229921/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Victorious Raiders Parade Through Downtown Ashland: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141221/NEWS/141229977/0/SEARCH

KOBI – Fans Line Ashland Streets to Congratulate SOU Raiders (video included): http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/sou-raiders.html#.VJhEzECk8

JPR – Oregon’s Other College Football Champions: Interview with SOU Football Coach Craig Howard (audio included): http://ijpr.org/post/oregons-other-college-football-champions

KTVL – SOU Offers Two New Courses for Community: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_sous-new-courses-unenrolled-14955.shtml

The Columbian – Local Open House to Honor Southern Oregon Champs: http://www.columbian.com/news/2014/dec/22/local-open-house-honor-southern-oregon-champs/

Statesman Journal – Congratulations to SOU on National Championship: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/opinion/readers/2014/12/23/congratulations-sou-football-win/20830715/

Las Vegas Sun – How a Bunch of Local Kids Made Their Way to Oregon and Won a National Championship: http://www.lasvegassun.com/news/2014/dec/25/how-bunch-local-kids-found-their-way-oregon-won-na/

Daytona Beach News Journal – NAIA Event Hailed as Success Despite Smaller Turnout: http://www.news-journalonline.com/article/20141222/BUSINESS/141229771?Title=NAIA-event-hailed-x2018-success-x2019-despite-smaller-turnout

KOBI – Dr. Saigo on ‘Five on 5’: http://kobi5.com/features/five-on-5/item/dr-roy-saigo-sou-president.html?category_id=11#.VJ8gAAFwA

KOBI – Matt Sayre on ‘Five on 5’: http://kobi5.com/features/five-on-5/item/matt-sayre-sou-athletic-director.html?category_id=11#.VJ8fpAFwA

SOU in the News: Dec. 13 – 19

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Mail Tribune – SOU’s Campus Choice Program Presented to U.S. Senate: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141214/NEWS/141219781/0/SEARCH

World News.com – SOU Announces 2015 Ronald E. McNair Achievement Program Cohort: http://article.wn.com/view/2014/12/12/SOU_Announces_2015_Ronald_E_McNair_Achievement_Program_Cohor/

KRQE (Albuquerque TV station) – Few Campus Sex Assaults Reported to Police: http://krqe.com/2014/12/14/few-campus-sex-assaults-reported-to-police/

KDRV – Interest in SOU Grows (video included): http://www.kdrv.com/interest-in-s-o-u-grows/

Jefferson Public Radio “The Jefferson Exchange” – SOU Lauded for Sexual Assault Response (audio included): http://ijpr.org/post/sou-lauded-sexual-assault-response

Mail Tribune – Logos May Offer “Fifth Year” at RCC or SOU: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141216/NEWS/141219691/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU’s Campus Choice Presented to US Senate: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141216/NEWS/141219850/0/SEARCH

SOU In the News: Dec. 6 – 12

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Portland Oregonian – SOU, Ashland Police Team Up Against Sexual Violence: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2014/12/southern_oregon_university_ash.html

Mail Tribune – SOU Business Students Seek Research Projects: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141205/NEWS/141209767/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Local Rep to Testify Before US Senate Panel: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141206/NEWS/141209875/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Raiders are Winners (Editorial highlighting sports successes): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141206/NEWS/141209891/0/SEARCH

Portland Oregonian – Editorial Peaks and Valleys: A Smart Approach in Addressing Sexual Assault: http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2014/12/editorial_peaks_and_valleys.html

NPR: All Things Considered – Senate Panel Looks at Taking Sexual Assault Investigations Off Campus (audio link included): http://www.npr.org/2014/12/09/369667246/senate-panel-looks-at-taking-sexual-assault-investigations-off-campus

Yahoo! News – Few Campus Sex Assaults Reported to Police: https://news.yahoo.com/senate-hearing-address-campus-sexual-assault-064346337–politics.html

USA Today – Senate Hearing Focuses on Campus Sexual Assault Reporting: http://college.usatoday.com/2014/12/09/senate-hearing-focuses-on-campus-sexual-assault-reporting/

USA Today – Senate Expects to Act Next Year on Campus Sex Assault Bill: http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/12/09/campus-sexual-assault-senate/20148677/

In The Capital – Senators are Holding a Hearing on Campus Sexual Assault Reporting: http://inthecapital.streetwise.co/2014/12/09/senate-subcommittee-hearing-on-campus-sexual-assault-reporting/

Associated Press – Few Campus Sex Assaults Reported to Police: http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_CAMPUS_SEXUAL_ASSAULT?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT

Video links to Senate hearing on campus sexual assault – SOU’s Angela Fleischer remarks: http://www.c-span.org/video/?c4518613/remarks-angela-fleischer

full hearing: http://www.c-span.org/video/?323149-1/hearing-sexual-assault-college-campuses

SOU In the News: Nov. 29 – Dec. 5

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

KOBI – Ferguson Protests Come to Southern Oregon: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/ferguson-protests-come-to-southern-oregon.html?category_id=3#.VH3x-tbZXWo

KDRV – Ashland Students Walk Out for Ferguson: http://www.kdrv.com/ashland-students-walk-out-for-ferguson/

Daily Tidings: SOU Students March through Ashland in Ferguson Protest: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141201/NEWS/141209971

Mail Tribune: SOU Students March Through Ashland in Ferguson Protest (video in link): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141201/NEWS/141209956/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU to Host All Percussion Concert: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141203/ENTERTAINMENT/141209870/101097/TEMPO

Daily Tidings – Our View: A Morning Well Spent (Editorial in support of SOU student activism regarding Ferguson): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141204/OPINION/141209919/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Letter to the Editor: Maybe Not at SOU, But a Pool Still Needed: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141204/OPINION/141209923/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU MBA Candidates Lend Talents for Free: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141204/NEWS/141209789/0/SEARCH

SOU In the News: Nov. 22 – 28

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

Biomass Magazine – SOU Considers Biomass Conversion: http://biomassmagazine.com/articles/11243/southern-oregon-university-considers-biomass-conversion

Mail Tribune – Dry Future for McNeal Pavilion: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20141124/NEWS/141129853/0/SEARCH

Stevens Point Journal Media – Chevrolet Helps Colleges Reduce Carbon Footprint: http://www.stevenspointjournal.com/story/life/2014/11/21/chevrolet-helps-colleges-reduce-carbon-footprint/19344667/

Daily Tidings – SOU Honors College Team Takes on Food Bank Project: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141124/NEWS/141129894/0/SEARCH

The Oregonian – SOU Athletic Complex Plan Eliminates Pool, Upsetting Swimmers: http://www.oregonlive.com/pacific-northwest-news/index.ssf/2014/11/southern_oregon_universitys_at.html

Philadelphia Inquirer – When an Apology Falls Short of Remorse (cites Dr. Edwin Battistella and his recent book): http://www.philly.com/philly/news/20141124_When_an_apology_really_isn_t.html

Daily Tidings – Our View: Pool is Not a Priority (Editorial): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20141126/OPINION/141129868/0/SEARCH

Bend Bulletin – SOU Ditches Swimming Pool: http://www.bendbulletin.com/localstate/2622943-151/sou-ditches-swimming-pool#