SOU In the News: Feb. 9 – 15

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Daily Tidings – Is City Hall a Teardown? (Professor Charles Lane featured): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160209/NEWS/160209864/0/SEARCH

Oxford University Press – It’s Fine to Start Sentences with “And” (feature by Professor Edwin Battistella): http://blog.oup.com/2016/02/start-sentences-with-and/

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Mail Tribune – SOU Archaeologists Will Study Bones from the Past: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160215/NEWS/160219830/0/SEARCH

 

News on Recent and Upcoming SOU Events:

Rogue Valley Messenger – SOU to Host “Play Like a Girl” Night: http://www.roguevalleymessenger.com/event/sou-to-host-play-like-a-girl-night-at-the-ahs-gymnasium/

Rogue Valley Messenger – SOU Hosts 3rd Annual Social Justice Conference: http://www.roguevalleymessenger.com/event/southern-oregon-university-hosts-the-3rd-annual-social-justice-conference/

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Report: More Oregonians Finishing Community College While Non-Residents Boost Universities: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/02/report_more_oregonians_going_t.html

Inside Higher Ed – Why is Tuition so High?: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2016/02/09/study-increased-student-aid-not-faculty-salaries-drives-tuition?utm_source=Inside+Higher+Ed&utm_campaign=8bca58981a-DNU20160209&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_1fcbc04421-8bca58981a-198630913

Oregonian/Oregon Live – PERS: Oregon Pension Deficit Up 20 Percent, Putting Pressure on Costs: http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2016/02/oregon_pension_deficit_up_20_p.html#incart_2box

The Chronicle of Higher Education – What Obama’s 2017 Budget Means for Higher Ed: http://chronicle.com/article/What-Obamas-2017-Budget-Means/235250?cid=at&utm_source=at&utm_medium=en&elq=d0984ee6c0254a1a9805e8a4c947c629&elqCampaignId=2411&elqaid=7846&elqat=1&elqTrackId=0c2ce4effa7543dbbdb94499534e69f1

 

Miscellaneous News:

The Siskiyou – Did You Check Your Privilege?: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/10/did-you-check-your-privilege/

The Siskiyou – Remembering Alex Howell: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/02/13/remembering-alex-howell/

Daily Tidings – More Seats for Multiculturalism: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160209/NEWS/160209853/0/SEARCH

Around the O – Seven Voices are Better than One: University Day in Salem: http://around.uoregon.edu/content/seven-voices-are-louder-one-university-day-salem

Campus Reform – SOU Tells Students Size DOES Matter When It Comes to Privilege: http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=7272

National Review – University Plasters Campus with Posters Asking Students to Check “Size Privilege”: http://www.nationalreview.com/article/431192/university-check-size-privilege