SOU In the News: May 24 – 30

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Daily Tidings – It’s a Plot: Deer Overrun Ashland: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160525/NEWS/160529896/0/SEARCH

 

News on SOU Environment and Sustainability Initiatives:

4-Traders – SOU Joins New Climate Commitment: http://www.4-traders.com/news/Southern-Oregon-University-SOU-Joins-New-Climate-Commitment–22406356/

The Siskiyou – The Bees Are Here to Stay: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/05/26/the-bees-are-here-to-stay/

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Daily Tidings – SOU’s ‘The Comedy of Errors’ a Spoof of Ashland: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160523/NEWS/160529936/0/SEARCH

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Oregon’s Anemic Higher Education Funding (Opinion): http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2016/05/oregons_anemic_higher_educatio.html#incart_email

CNN – College Enrollment is Dropping. Bad Sign?: http://money.cnn.com/2016/05/20/news/economy/college-enrollment-down/index.html?section=money_pf

NPR – A First: Pell Grants for High School Students Who Take College Courses: http://www.npr.org/sections/ed/2016/05/17/478260017/a-first-pell-grants-for-high-school-students-who-take-college-classes?utm_source=npr_newsletter&utm_medium=email&utm_content=20160522&utm_campaign=&utm_term=

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

KOBI – First of Three SOU Presidential Candidates Announced: https://kobi5.com/news/first-of-three-sou-presidential-candidates-announced-28112/

Daily Tidings – Our View: Meet SOU Finalist Today: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160525/OPINION/160529903/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Board Narrows Field of Presidential Candidates: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160525/NEWS/160529899/0/SEARCH

KDRV – 3 Finalists Selected for SOU President: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Selects_3_Finalists_for_President.html

Daily Tidings – Michigan Dean Among Finalists for SOU Presidency: http://www.dailytidings.com/news/20160525/michigan-dean-among-finalists-for-sou-presidency

Mail Tribune – President candidate says SOU must be enterprising: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160525/NEWS/160529664/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – Dr. Michael Tidwell Wants to be SOU’s Next President: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/05/31/dr-michael-tidwell-wants-to-be-sous-next-president/

KAJO – Southern Oregon University President Search Now Down to Three Final Candidates: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1464331053&ucat=2&

 

Miscellaneous News:

The Siskiyou – Davis Retains Presidency…For Now: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/05/25/davis-retains-presidency-for-now/

Daily Tidings – SOU President Visits University of Guanajuato: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160525/NEWS/160529898/0/SEARCH

Campus Reform – Student’s Campaign Suspended for Criticizing Gender-Neutral Bathrooms: http://www.campusreform.org/?ID=7613

The Siskiyou – Davis Secures Presidency Under Probationary Measures: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/05/29/davis-secures-presidency-under-prohibitionary-measures/

KOBI – SOU Student Film Festival: https://kobi5.com/news/sou-student-film-festival-28439/

Daily Tidings – OLLI Seeks New Teachers to Expand Course Offerings: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160526/NEWS/160529853/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Student Films Screen Tuesday in Free Showing at Varsity Theatre: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160530/NEWS/160539989/0/SEARCH

The College Fix – Army ROTC Student’s Political Campaign Suspended for ‘Transphobic’ Facebook Comments: http://www.thecollegefix.com/post/27598/