Sou In the News: March 29 – April 4

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

News on SOU Academic Programs:

The Source Weekly – Chinese History in Oregon (feature on SOULA project): http://www.bendsource.com/bend/sides-notes-3-30-4-6/Content?oid=2615235

KDRV – SOU Master’s Students Study Distracted Driving: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Masters_Students_Study_Distracted_Driving.html

KTVL – Study: Distracted Driving Results in 60 Percent of Fatal Crashes: http://ktvl.com/news/local/study-distracted-driving-results-in-60-of-fatal-crashes

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Daily Tidings – ‘In Scene’ Artist Plans SOU Lecture: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160330/NEWS/160339968/0/SEARCH

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

KTVL – Oregon Moves Neediest to Front of the Line for College Funds: http://ktvl.com/news/local/oregon-moves-neediest-to-front-of-line-for-college-funds

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Needier Oregonians Will Get First Chance at $72 Million in College Grants: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/03/needier_oregonians_will_get_fi.html

Bend Bulletin – Student Grants to be Allotted By Need: http://www.bendbulletin.com/localstate/4168371-151/student-grants-to-be-allotted-by-need

Inside Higher Ed – Graduation Gap Widens: https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2016/03/23/graduation-gap-between-black-white-students-public-colleges-widens-despite-overall?utm_source=Inside+Higher+Ed&utm_campaign=e645fae13a-DNU20160323&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_1fcbc04421-e645fae13a-198630913

Statesman Journal – PERS Deficit Climbs to $21 Billion: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/news/politics/2016/03/28/pers-deficit-climbs-21-billion/82328500/

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Oregon Universities Request $100 Million More from State Amid ‘Significant Retirement Costs’: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/03/oregon_universities_want_100_m.html#incart_2box

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Live Stream Not in the Picture at Oregon State, Portland State Trustees’ Meetings: http://www.oregonlive.com/education/index.ssf/2016/03/live_stream_not_in_the_picture.html

Bend Bulletin – Editorial: Make it Easier for Public to Watch Public Meetings: http://www.bendbulletin.com/opinion/editorials/4173077-151/editorial-make-it-easier-for-public-to-watch#

 

Miscellaneous News:

Daily Tidings – Search for Housing Solutions: Reuse Abandoned Dorms?: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160329/NEWS/160329827/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: A Nice Idea, But…(editorial on Cascade Hall use): http://www.dailytidings.com/opinion/20160330/our-view-nice-idea-but-

Daily Tidings – Ashland Parks Director Offers Up New Public Pool Option: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160330/NEWS/160339970

Daily Tidings – SOU Opens The Nest, an Allergen-Focused Pantry for Students who Qualify: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160401/NEWS/160409994/0/SEARCH

KDRV – Police Arrest 4 After Ashland Stabbing: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Police_Arrest_4_After_Ashland_Stabbing.html

KTVL – Friends of Stabbing Victims Tell Their Side of the Story: http://ktvl.com/news/local/friends-of-stabbing-victims-tell-their-side-of-the-story

KTVL – Police: Four Arrested in Ashland College Party Stabbing: http://ktvl.com/news/local/police-four-arrested-in-ashland-college-party-stabbing

KOBI – Four Arrested Following Stabbing Near SOU: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/four-arrested-following-stabbing-near-sou-24798/

Daily Tidings – Four Partycrashers Jailed After Fight, Stabbing Near SOU: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160401/NEWS/160409980/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Four Partycrashers Jailed After Fight, Stabbing Near SOU: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160401/NEWS/160409960/0/SEARCH

KAJO – Four People Arrested in Stabbing of Two People During House Party in Ashland: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1459571356&ucat=2