SOU In the News: Jan. 5 – Jan. 11

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Coast Weekend – What Does it Mean to Be Human (feature on Professor Prakash Chenjeri): http://www.coastweekend.com/cw/coastal-life/20160104/what-does-it-mean-to-be-human

KOBI – Community Remembers Medford Teacher: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/community-remembers-medford-teacher-19575/

Eater.com – How El Nino is Impacting California’s Wine Industry (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.eater.com/2016/1/6/10718654/el-nino-california-wine

Daily Tidings – City Councilor Voisin Rules Out Run for House: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160108/NEWS/160109855/0/SEARCH

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Daily Tidings – Schneider Museum to Host Lecture by Artist McAdams: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160106/NEWS/160109904/0/SEARCH

 

News on Politics, Policy, and National Trends Impacting SOU and Higher Education:

GolocalPDX.com – Oregon Spends Nearly Four Times More on Incarceration than Higher Education: http://www.golocalpdx.com/news/oregon-spends-nearly-four-times-more-on-incarceration-than-higher-education

Statesman Journal – PERS Costs to Rise by Billions: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/news/politics/state-workers/2015/12/25/pers-costs-rise-billions/77098062/

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Democratic Legislators Have Made Education a Priority (Opinion): http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2015/12/democratic_legislators_have_ma.html#incart_river_index

US News & World Report – States are Slacking on Higher Ed Spending: http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2016/01/07/states-spending-less-on-higher-education-today-than-before-recession

Market Watch – Why States are Cutting Back on Higher Education Funding: http://www.marketwatch.com/story/why-states-are-cutting-back-on-higher-education-funding-2016-01-07

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

KDRV – Search for SOU President Moves Forward: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Search_For_SOU_President_Moves_Forward.html

 

Miscellaneous News:

Daily Tidings – Ashland Nonprofit Interns Help Keep Trails Clear: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160106/NEWS/160109903/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Business Briefs: Lunch Talk Will Focus on SOU Intern Program: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160105/NEWS/160109844/0/SEARCH

Wepartypatriots.com – $2.5 Million in Backpay Coming to Oregon Tradesmen: http://wepartypatriots.com/wp/2016/01/04/2-5m-in-backpay-coming-to-oregon-tradesmen-for-universitys-prevailing-wage-violations/