SOU In the News: Jan 12 – 25

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Oxford University Press – How Do You Pronounce “Pulitzer”? (feature by Dr. Edwin Battistella): http://blog.oup.com/2016/01/how-pronounce-pulitzer/

KDRV – Odds of Winning (featuring professor Kemble Yates): http://mms.tveyes.com/Transcript.asp?StationID=5420&DateTime=1%2F13%2F2016+11%3A03%3A31+AM&Term=Southern+Oregon+University&PlayClip=TRUE

Daily Tidings – SOU Professor Joins Oregon Humanities Board of Directors: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160114/NEWS/160119906/101059/NEWS

Daily Tidings – Wine Enthusiast Touts Ashland Area as an International Destination (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160119/NEWS/160119848/0/SEARCH

Upper Rogue Independent – Southern Oregon’s Chinese Heritage (Chelsea Rose featured): http://www.urindependent.com/2016/01/southern-oregons-chinese-heritage/

NCAA Champion Magazine – Where Pride Meets Prejudice (Dr. Saigo featured): http://www.ncaa.org/static/champion/where-pride-meets-prejudice/index.php

The Siskiyou – Meet the New Face of the QRC: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/22/meet-the-new-face-of-the-queer-resource-center/

Daily Tidings – Oregon Tempranillo Takes Center Stage (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160124/NEWS/160129913/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Rogue Valley Drivers Fill ‘er Up as Gas Prices Drop Below $2 (Professor Dan Rubensen featured): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160122/NEWS/160129809

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Daily Tidings – Exchange Programs Strengthen Ashland-Guanajuato Ties: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160118/NEWS/160119850/0/SEARCH

KTVL – SOU Creates Program for Business Owners: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-creates-program-for-business-owners

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Daily Tidings – ‘More than a Survivor’ Challenges Stereotypes Around Sex-Trafficking Victims: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160112/NEWS/160119964/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – ‘Exploring Reality’ at Schneider Museum of Art: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160111/ENTERTAINMENT/160119995/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – ‘More than a Survivor’ Challenges Stereotypes Around Sex-Trafficking Victims: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160112/NEWS/160119909/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Poetry Event of the Season: http://blogs.esouthernoregon.com/ashland-poetry/2016/01/12/poetry-event-of-the-season/

Daily Tidings – ‘Exploring Reality’ at the Schneider Museum of Art: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160114/ENTERTAINMENT/160119974/0/SEARCH

 

News on Recent and Upcoming SOU Events:

Daily Tidings – Hannon Throws Birthday Bash for Poet William Stafford: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160118/NEWS/160119849/0/SEARCH

JPR – Poetry and Music to Celebrate a Poet-Laureate: http://ijpr.org/post/poetry-and-music-celebrate-poet-laureate

Daily Tidings – Local Farms Captured in Words and Color: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160122/NEWS/160129925/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Local Farms Captured in Words and Color: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160123/NEWS/160129781/0/SEARCH

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

Daily Tidings – SOU Expects Faculty Union to Ratify Contract: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160124/NEWS/160129912/0/SEARCH

 

Miscellaneous News:

Daily Tidings – Our View: Spotlight on Trafficking: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160113/OPINION/160119952/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – SOU, Thinking Local?: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/15/sou-thinking-local/

The Siskiyou – McNeal Pavilion Behind Schedule: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/15/mcneal-pavilion-behind-schedule/

The Siskiyou – FDA Ban Stops Blood Drives on Campus, “We Would Like to See Change”: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/20/fda-ban-stops-blood-drives-on-campus-we-would-like-to-see-change/

The Siskiyou – Martin Luther King’s Legacy, “Get Uncomfortable”: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/20/martin-luther-kings-legacy-get-uncomfortable/

KDRV – Survivor and Advocates Talk About Sex Trafficking: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Reb.html

KOBI – “More than a Survivor” Photo Exhibit Kicks Off: https://kobi5.com/news/more-than-a-survivor-photo-exhibit-kicks-off-20189/

Daily Tidings – Honoring Martin Luther King Jr.: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160115/NEWS/160119880/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Honoring MLK: Small Children, Big Message: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160115/NEWS/160119691/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – SOU Snapchat: More or Less Moralless: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/21/sou-snapchat-more-or-less-moralless/

Movie Maker – Best Places to Live and Work as a Moviemaker 2016 (SOU mentioned): http://www.moviemaker.com/archives/news/2016-best-places-small-cities-and-towns/5/

The Siskiyou – Where Your Student Fees Go: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2016/01/22/where-your-student-fees-go/

KTVL – SOU Student Posts on Snapchat Unfiltered: http://ktvl.com/news/local/sou-students-post-on-snapchat-unfiltered

Daily Tidings – Old McNeal Pavilion Coming Down to Make Way for New Facility: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20160121/NEWS/160129949/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Pool Building Demolished: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20160121/NEWS/160129892/0/SEARCH

KTVL – Jackson Elementary Held “Junior Achievement in a Day”: http://ktvl.com/news/local/jackson-elementary-held-junior-achievement-in-a-day