SOU In the News: Nov. 24 – Dec. 7

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

Daily Tidings – Ashlanders Poised to Fill Buckley Seat: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151117/NEWS/151119859/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Hopes to Strike Sparks Between the Arts (interview with David Humphrey): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151130/NEWS/151139999/0/SEARCH

CNBC – Climate Change Turns Canada Into a Hot Spot for Wine (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.cnbc.com/2015/12/02/climate-change-turns-canada-into-wine-hot-spot-commentary.html

UC Observer – O Cannabis (instructor Martin Ball featured): http://www.ucobserver.org/society/2015/12/cannabis/

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

KDRV – SOU Students Partner with City of Ashland to Survey Stores on Plastic Bag Ban: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Students_Partner_With_City_of_Ashland_to_Survey_Stores_on_Plastic_Bag_Ban.html

KDRV – SOU Joins Medford Schools to Improve Graduation Rates: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Joins_Medford_Schools_To_Improve_Graduation_Rates.html

Earth Dispatch – Benefits of the Accelerated Baccalaureate Program at SOU: http://earthdispatch.com/benefits-of-the-accelerated-baccalaureate-program-at-sou.html

 

News on SOU Environment and Sustainability Initiatives:

The Siskiyou – The Secret Life of Your Trash: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/18/the-secret-life-of-your-trash/

 

News on SOU Fine and Performing Arts:

Performing Arts Reviews – Center State Theater’s Seagull: http://performingarts.reviews/2015/11/19/center-stage-theaters-seagull/

Mail Tribune – Holidays to Hit a High Note: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151120/ENTERTAINMENTLIFE/151119964

Mail Tribune – David Wax Museum Plays SOU Music Hall: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151205/ENTERTAINMENT/151209954/0/SEARCH

KDRV – SOU Students Offer Free Family Photos: http://mms.tveyes.com/Transcript.asp?StationID=5420&DateTime=12%2F6%2F2015+11%3A09%3A19+PM&Term=Southern+Oregon+University&PlayClip=TRUE

 

News on Recent and Upcoming SOU Events:

The Siskiyou – FemFest Slammin’: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/18/femfest-slammin/

Daily Tidings – APD Det. Hull Speaks Saturday at SOU: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151117/NEWS/151119840

JPR – Jefferson Exchange: Closer to Cuba at SOU: http://ijpr.org/post/thu-8-am-closer-cuba-sou

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

Daily Tidings – Buckley Could Go From Legislature to University: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151130/NEWS/151139983/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Buckley Considers Run at SOU Post: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151130/NEWS/151139963/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Straight Out of Salem? (Editorial): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151202/OPINION/151209971/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Our View: Buckley Would Add a Twist to SOU President Search: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151202/OPINION/151209938/0/SEARCH

KOBI – Rep Buckley Reaches Out to SOU’s Board of Trustees: https://kobi5.com/news/rep-buckley-reaches-out-to-sous-board-of-trustees-5486/

Video to accompany the above: http://mms.tveyes.com/Transcript.asp?StationID=9535&DateTime=12%2F1%2F2015+5%3A02%3A44+PM&Term=Southern+Oregon+University&PlayClip=TRUE

KLDR – State Rep Talking About Becoming Next President of Southern Oregon University: http://www.kldr.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1449085469&ucat=2&

 

Miscellaneous News:

KDRV – SOU Students Discuss France Attacks: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Students_Discuss_France_Attacks_.html

KTVL – Student: Islam is Not a Violent Religion: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_student-islam-not-violent-religion-18471.shtml

Daily Tidings – Sister City Relationship Celebrated at “Guanajuato Nights”: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151116/NEWS/151119862

The Siskiyou – Coming Together in the Wake of Terrorist Attacks: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/18/coming-together-in-wake-of-terrorist-attacks/

KTVL – SOU Responding to Racist Social Media Posts: http://mms.tveyes.com/Transcript.asp?StationID=5425&DateTime=11%2F19%2F2015+6%3A01%3A48+AM&Term=Southern+Oregon+University&PlayClip=TRUE

The Siskiyou – ’Riding the Yak’ to Racism: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/19/riding-the-yak-to-racism/

KTVL – Social Media Threat at SOU: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_18520.shtml

The Siskiyou – The Black Market Parking Industry: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/22/the-black-market-parking-industry/

Best Kept College Secrets – Southern Oregon University: http://bestkeptcollegesecrets.com/2015/11/southern-oregon-university/

The Siskiyou – Tears in our Beers: The Student Debt Crisis in Southern Oregon: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/11/24/tears-in-our-beers-the-student-debt-crisis-in-southern-oregon/

Daily Tidings – SOU Group Cites Progress, but Dangerous Toys Still Available: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151127/NEWS/151129862/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Children’s Books Handed Out at Ashland Parade: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151128/NEWS/151129861/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Activists: “Wake Up, Ashland”: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151202/NEWS/151209951/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Students Distribute Books to Kids at Ashland Festival of Lights: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151128/NEWS/151129645/0/SEARCH

KDRV – Active Shooter Training in Southern Oregon: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Active_Shooter_Training_in_Southern_Oregon.html

KDRV – SOU Holds Active Shooter Trainings: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Holds_Active_Shooter_Trainings_.html

Mail Tribune – SOU Activists March to Bring Attention to Racism: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151203/NEWS/151209876

Daily Tidings – Our View: A Timely Reminder (Editorial on student racism demonstration): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151204/OPINION/151209933/0/SEARCH

KTVL – Protesting Racism in Ashland: http://ktvl.com/news/local/protesting-racism-in-ashland

KDRV – Racial Equality Activists March for Justice: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Racial_Equality_Activists_March_For_Justice.html

KOBI – SOU Students Hold Protest to Address Racial Concerns: https://kobi5.com/news/sou-students-hold-protest-to-address-racial-concerns-5693/

Daily Tidings – SOU Faculty Contract Negotiations at Decision Point: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151205/NEWS/151209895/0/SEARCH

KAJO – SOU Campus Security Hosting Active Shooter Training Seminars on Campus: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1449292392&ucat=2