SOU In the News: Oct. 20 – 26

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

SOU Student, Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Features:

KDRV – SOU Students Send Support to UCC Victims and Families: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Students_Send_Support_to_UCC_Victims__Families.html

Great Northwest Wines – Idaho Wine Industry Awaits Establishment of Eagle Foothills AVA (Professor Greg Jones featured): http://www.greatnorthwestwine.com/2015/10/19/idaho-wine-industry-awaits-establishment-of-eagle-foothills-ava/

Mail Tribune – Medford Police Chief Announces Retirement (chief is an SOU alumnus): http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151023/NEWS/151029780/0/SEARCH

KDRV – Medford Police Chief Announces Retirement: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Medford_Police_Chief_Announces_Retirement.html

Statesman Journal – Wild Rogue Backpacking Route Opens in Southern Oregon (student featured): http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/travel/outdoors/2015/10/24/wild-rogue-backpacking-route-opens-southern-oregon/74541208/

 

News on SOU Academic Programs:

Jacksonville Review – Exciting News from the Trenches: http://jacksonvillereview.com/exciting-news-from-the-trenches/

Jacksonville Review – Artifacts 11: Mourning Buttons: http://jacksonvillereview.com/artifacts-11-mourning-buttons-by-carol-knapp/

 

News on SOU Environment and Sustainability Initiatives:

AASHE – AASHE Announces 2015 Sustainability Award Winners: http://www.aashe.org/highlights/press-releases/aashe-announces-2015-sustainability-award-winners

 

News on SOU governance and Board of Trustees:

The Siskiyou – Dr. Saigo Not Staying: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/19/10831/

Daily Tidings – Saigo Drops Suggestion He Extend Term as Interim SOU President: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Students_Send_Support_to_UCC_Victims__Families.html

Mail Tribune – SOU Interim President Opts Out of Contract Extension: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151021/NEWS/151029908/0/SEARCH

 

Miscellaneous News:

Daily Tidings – Cooking Oil Fire Damages SOU-Owned House, Displaces Two: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151019/NEWS/151019866/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – City of Ashland Backs Amigo Club Efforts (SOU mentioned): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151019/NEWS/151019856/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Cooking Oil Fire Damages SOU-Owned House, Displaces Two: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151019/NEWS/151019856/0/SEARCH

The Siskiyou – Active Shooter: What to Do: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/20/active-shooter-what-to-do/

The Siskiyou – Students and Senators Agree on Student Debt Problem: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/20/students-and-senators-agree-on-the-debt-problem/

KDRV – Fire Displaces Ashland Family: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Fire_Displaces_Ashland_Family.html