SOU In the News: Emergency Response Coverage

SOU-LOGO-HZ-186-POS

KOBI – Investigation Continues Into Threat that Closed SOU: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/investigation-continues-into-threat-that-closed-sou-2503/

KOBI – SOU Ashland Campus Closed Wednesday Due to Threat Will Reopen Thursday: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/breaking-sou-ashland-campus-closed-wednesday-due-to-threat-2449/

KOBI – SOU Students Stand in Solidarity with UCC: https://kobi5.com/news/local-news/sou-students-stand-in-solidarity-with-ucc-2582/

KOBI – SOU to Hold Active Shooter Training Sessions: https://kobi5.com/news/sou-to-hold-active-shooter-training-sessions-2426/

KOBI – Medford, White City RCC Campuses Evacuated: https://kobi5.com/news/medford-white-city-rcc-campuses-evacuated-2309/

KDRV – SOU Officials Discuss Campus Safety: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/_SOU_Officials_Discuss_Campus_Safety.html

KDRV – Active Shooter Training at SOU: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Active_Shooter_Training_at_SOU.html

KDRV – SOU Campus to Reopen Thursday Morning: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Campus_to_Reopen_Thursday_Morning.html

KDRV – DA: People who Make Threats Can Face Charges: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/DA_People_Who_Make_Threats_Can_Face_Charges.html

KDRV – Police Continue to Monitor SOU Campus: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Police_Continue_to_Monitor_SOU_Campus.html

KDRV – Unconfirmed Threat Closes SOU Campus: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/Unconfirmed_Threat_Closes_SOU_Campus.html

KDRV – SOU Ashland Closed Wednesday Due to Threat: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_Ashland_Closed_Wednesday_due_to_Threat.html

KDRV – SOU to Host Events in Support of UCC: http://www.kdrv.com/news/local/SOU_to_Host_Events_in_Support_of_UCC.html

KDRV – SOU Campus Safety: http://www.kdrv.com/news/UCCShooting/SOU_Campus_Safety.html

KDRV – Active Shooter Training at SOU: http://www.kdrv.com/news/Active_Shooter_Training_at_SOU.html

KDRV – UPDATE: SOU Cancels Classes at Higher Education Center: http://www.kdrv.com/news/SOU_Classes_Remain_as_Scheduled.html

KTVL – SOU Holds Active Shooter Training: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_18079.shtml

KTVL – SOU Honors Umpqua Community College: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17996.shtml

KTVL – SOU Praised for Online Proactiveness: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17995.shtml

KTVL – SOU Students Say They Feel Safe: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17964.shtml

KTVL – SOU to Reopen Thursday: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17963.shtml

KTVL – Unconfirmed Threat Closes SOU’s Ashland Campus Classes: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17953.shtml

KTVL – SOU to Host UCC Support Events Thursday: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17936.shtml

KTVL – No Explosives Found on Rogue Community College Campuses, Investigation Ongoing: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17910.shtml

KTVL – Classes Cancelled for Rogue Community College and SOU’s Medford Campus: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17906.shtml

KTVL – All Rogue Community College Campuses Evacuated for Bomb Threat: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17905.shtml

KTVL – SOU Response to UCC Shooting: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_17875.shtml

Mail Tribune – SOU Training Gives Tips on What to do if There’s an Active Shooter: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151016/NEWS/151019735/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Set to Reopen Thursday After Threatening Handwritten Note Prompts Closure: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151007/NEWS/151009706/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Ashland Campus Closed Because of Unconfirmed Threat: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151006/NEWS/151009713/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – SOU Plans Vigil, Barbecue Fundraiser in Support of UCC on Thursday: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151006/NEWS/151009737/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Rogue Valley Groups, Institutions Reach Out to Support UCC Victims and Their Families: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151006/NEWS/151009722/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Bomb Threat Forces Evacuation, Closure of RCC’s Three Campuses: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151005/NEWS/151009791/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Our View: Send a Message to Those Who Issue Empty Threats: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20151006/OPINION/151009774/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Learning to Survive: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151016/OPINION/151019914/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Learning How to Survive: SOU Holds First Active Shooter Defense Class: http://www.ktvl.com/shared/news/top-stories/stories/ktvl_vid_18079.shtml

Daily Tidings – SOU to Hold Active Shooter Class: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151008/NEWS/151009850/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Talking it Out: SOU Students Gather for Vigil, Barbecue in Wake of UCC Massacre: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151008/NEWS/151009831/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Set to Reopen Thursday After ‘Threatening’ Handwritten Note Prompts Closure: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151007/NEWS/151009868/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings: Our View: No Laughing Matter: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151006/OPINION/151009904/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings: SOU Plans Vigil, Barbecue Fundraiser in Support of UCC on Thursday: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151006/NEWS/151009886/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – SOU Campus Closed Because of Unconfirmed Threat: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20151006/NEWS/151009875/0/SEARCH

Jefferson Public Radio – Southern Oregon U. to Reopen After Threat Causes Campus Closure: http://ijpr.org/post/southern-oregon-u-reopen-after-threat-causes-campus-closure

Jefferson Public Radio – Threat Shuts Down Rogue Community College: http://ijpr.org/post/threat-shuts-down-rogue-community-college

Jefferson Public Radio – The Jefferson Exchange: The Umpqua Aftermath and Other School Shootings: http://ijpr.org/post/umpqua-aftermath-and-other-school-shootings

Herald and News – Threat Shuts Down SOU Campus, Will Reopen Thursday: http://www.heraldandnews.com/breaking/threat-shuts-down-sou-campus-will-reopen-thursday/article_288f969e-6d3c-11e5-9a1f-8b848ce47061.html

Herald and News – SOU Threat Causes Campus Closure: http://www.heraldandnews.com/news/northwest/sou-threat-causes-campus-closure/article_69496be8-8939-5e76-a377-91ccb0a75b95.html

Herald and News – Threat Causes Southern Oregon University to Cancel Classes: http://www.heraldandnews.com/news/oregon/threat-causes-southern-oregon-university-to-cancel-classes/article_d3478a8b-1634-54a4-b810-e7ed29906efc.html

The Siskiyou – Closed Campus Follow-up: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/14/closed-campus-follow-up/

The Siskiyou – Students React to Campus Closure and Where to Go from Here: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/07/students-react-to-campus-closure-and-where-to-go-from-here/

The Siskiyou – Threats to Campus Close SOU for the Day: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/07/threats-to-campus-close-sou-for-the-day/

The Siskiyou – UCC Shooting Has SOU Evaluating Procedures: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/02/ucc-shooting-has-sou-evaluating-procedures/

The Siskiyou – A Message from President Roy Saigo: “Safety Is My Number One Priority”: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/10/02/a-message-from-president-roy-saigo-safety-is-my-number-one-priority/

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Threatening Note that Canceled Southern Oregon University Classes Referenced Umpqua Community College Mass Shootings: http://www.oregonlive.com/pacific-northwest-news/index.ssf/2015/10/threatening_note_that_cancelle.html#incart_river

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Southern Oregon University to Reopen After Threatening Note is Found: http://www.oregonlive.com/pacific-northwest-news/index.ssf/2015/10/southern_oregon_university_to.html

Oregonian/Oregon Live – Threat Prompts Southern Oregon University to Cancel Classes: http://www.oregonlive.com/marijuana/index.ssf/2015/10/threat_prompts_southern_oregon.html#incart_river

Chronicle of Higher Education – After Killings in Oregon, Colleges Face Threats—and Take No Chances: http://chronicle.com/article/After-Killings-in-Oregon/233721

KAJO – Parents Thank SOU Officials for Online Messages, Warning of Threat: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1444454102&ucat=2

KAJO – Southern Oregon University Campus Closed Today Due to Undisclosed Threat: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1444196455&ucat=2,4

KAJO – Local Colleges Honor Umpqua Community College Shooting Victims and Families: http://www.kajo.com/news/local/stories.php?subaction=showfull&id=1444374619&ucat=2

Fox News – Colleges in Oregon, Kentucky Cancel Classes Due to Threats: http://www.foxnews.com/us/2015/10/07/colleges-in-oregon-kentucky-cancel-classes-due-to-threats/

Seattle Times – Threat Causes Southern Oregon University to Cancel Classes: http://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/threat-causes-southern-oregon-university-to-cancel-classes/

NBC News – Southern Oregon University Campus Shut Down Over Handwritten Note: http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/southern-oregon-university-campus-shut-down-over-handwritten-note-n439846

KATU – Southern Oregon University to Reopen Thursday After Threat: http://www.katu.com/news/local/Southern-Oregon-University-SOU-closes-campus-over-threatening-message-331022382.html

Oregon Public Broadcasting – Threats Keep Thousands of Oregon Students Out of Class Since UCC: http://www.opb.org/news/article/threats-disrupt-classes-from-ashland-to-portland/

Oregon Public Broadcasting – SOU Threat Causes Campus Closure: http://www.opb.org/news/article/southern-oregon-university-threat-causes-campus-closure-/

University Herald – Southern Oregon University Threat: Campus Closes Wednesday, Police Investigation Underway: http://www.universityherald.com/articles/24535/20151007/southern-oregon-university-threat-ashland-campus-closes-wednesday-police-investigation-underway.htm

Register Guard – Potential Threat Causes Southern Oregon University to Cancel Classes: http://registerguard.com/rg/news/local/33586490-75/potential-threat-causes-southern-oregon-university-to-cancel-classes.html.csp

 

KGW – Threat Causes Southern Oregon University to Cancel Classes: http://www.kgw.com/story/news/local/southern-oregon/2015/10/07/threat-causes-s-ore-university-cancel-classes/73517908/

KVOA (Tuscon) – Southern Oregon University Ashland Campus Closed Wednesday Due to Threat: http://www.kvoa.com/story/30207657/breaking-southern-oregon-university-ashland-campus-closed-wednesday-due-to-threat

Statesman Journal – Southern Oregon University Closes Campus After Threat: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/news/2015/10/07/southern-oregon-university-closes-campus-after-threat/73503602/?from=global&sessionKey=&autologin=

KEZI – Southern Oregon University Campus Closed After Threatening Note Found: http://www.kezi.com/news/Southern_Oregon_University_Campus_Closed_after_Threatening_Note_Found.html

KPTV – Southern Oregon University Closed Due to Unconfirmed Threat: http://www.kptv.com/story/30205709/southern-oregon-university-closed-due-to-unconfirmed-threat

Inside Higher Ed – Threat Leads Eastern Kentucky to Call Off Classes: https://www.insidehighered.com/quicktakes/2015/10/08/threat-leads-eastern-kentucky-call-classes

Bend Bulletin – Threats Force Two Colleges to Cancel Classes: http://www.bendbulletin.com/nation/3580194-151/threats-force-2-colleges-to-cancel-classes