SOU In the News: May 9 – 15

SOU LOGO HZ 186 POS

SOAR:

Daily Tidings: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150510/NEWS/150519995/101081/NEWS

Mail Tribune: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150512/NEWS/150519826/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Rising From the Ashes (feature on student SOAR Project): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150513/NEWS/150519894/0/SEARCH

 

Closing of Schneider Children’s Center:

The Siskiyou: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/05/11/breaking-news-schneider-child-care-center-gets-yes-vote/

Daily Tidings: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150512/NEWS/150519920/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150512/NEWS/150519822/0/SEARCH

Daily Tidings – Our View: Focus on the Basics (editorial on Schneider Children’s Center): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150515/OPINION/150519875/0/SEARCH

 

Mark Helfrich to be Featured Speaker at SOU Commencement:

KOBI: http://kobi5.com/news/local-news/item/mark-helfrich-to-be-this-year-s-commencement-speaker-at-sou.html?category_id=3#.VVS1a5O2pCA

Daily Tidings: http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150513/NEWS/150519906/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150513/NEWS/150519793/0/SEARCH

Oregonian/Oregon Live: http://www.oregonlive.com/ducks/index.ssf/2015/05/mark_helfrich_to_be_featured_s.html

Portland Sun Times: http://portland.suntimes.com/por-sports/7/89/84152/mark-helfrich-southern-oregon-graduation-speaker

Statesman Journal: http://www.statesmanjournal.com/story/sports/college/univ-oregon/2015/05/13/ducks-football-coach-speak-southern-oregon-graduation/27246725/

Sports Manias: http://www.sportsmanias.com/news/oregon-ducks/mark-helfrich-to-be-featured-speaker-at-southern-oregon-universitys-graduation/55539fd5f7ed2f2263000039

 

Miscellaneous:

Jacksonville Review – Digging Jacksonville: Artifacts 7: Ceramics from Jacksonville’s Chinese Quarter: http://jacksonvillereview.com/artifacts-7-ceramics-from-jacksonvilles-chinese-quarter/

KOBI – Five on 5: Dr. Roy Saigo – SOU President: http://kobi5.com/features/five-on-5/item/dr-roy-saigo-sou-president-may-7th-2015.html?category_id=11#.VVEHmpO2pCA

Oxford University Press – How to Write a Great Graduation Speech (by Dr. Edwin Battistlla): http://blog.oup.com/2015/05/how-to-write-graduation-speech/

KOBI – The Big Idea Day at SOU: http://kobi5.com/component/zoo/item/the-big-idea-day-at-sou.html#.VVEG5ZO2pCA

JPR – The Jefferson Exchange: Revolutions of the Kinder Variety (SOU Campus Theme): http://ijpr.org/post/revolutions-kinder-variety

Science – Committing to Ecological Restoration (co-authored by Dr. John Gutrich): http://www.sciencemag.org/content/348/6235/638.short#aff-7

Go Local PDX – Portland Start-up Aims to Cut Student Spending on College Textbooks (SOU featured): http://www.golocalpdx.com/news/portland-start-up-aims-to-cut-student-spending-on-college-textbooks

The Siskiyou – Students React to Tuition Increases: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/05/13/students-react-to-tuition-increases/

The Siskiyou – #NewAreaOfFocus: http://siskiyou.sou.edu/2015/05/14/newareaoffocus/

KOBI – ‘Five on 5’ Moneeka Settles and Chris Cooks on Innovation and Leadership Program: http://kobi5.com/features/five-on-5/item/moneeka-settles-chris-cooks-sou.html?category_id=11#.VVS3b5O2pCA

Recovery Campus – At Southern Oregon, CORE Takes on a New Meaning: http://recoverycampus.com/southern-oregon-university/

Daily Tidings – Heading to Harvard (feature on SOU student Michael Menefee): http://www.dailytidings.com/article/20150514/NEWS/150519866/0/SEARCH

Mail Tribune – Archaeologist Chelsea Rose Receives Jeffersonian Award: http://www.mailtribune.com/article/20150514/NEWS/150519714/0/SEARCH

Daily Barometer – Oregon University Presidents Call for Stronger State Support: http://www.dailybarometer.com/news/oregon-university-presidents-call-for-stronger-state-support/article_3247bcf6-faa1-11e4-9816-774e855733e7.html