SOU Faculty Member Diana Maltz Receives a Prestigious Fulbright Award to the UK

Dr. Diana Maltz, a faculty member at Southern Oregon University, has received a Fulbright Scholar Award to enable her to pursue research at the University of Liverpool on one of the most prestigious and selective scholarship programs operating world-wide.Created by treaty in 1948, the US-UK Fulbright Commission is the only bi-lateral, transatlantic scholarship program, offering awards for study or research in any field, at any accredited US or UK university. The Commission is part of the Fulbright program conceived by Senator J. William Fulbright in the aftermath of World War II to promote leadership, learning and empathy between nations through educational exchange. Award recipients will be the future leaders for tomorrow and support the “special relationship” between the US and UK.

dr diana maltzDiana Maltz is a Professor of English Literature at Southern Oregon University. She earned her BA from Bennington College and her PhD from Stanford University. She has been the recipient of postdoctoral fellowships through the Ahmanson-Getty Foundation and the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art. Dr. Maltz’s scholarship examines the interrelations between late-Victorian art movements and social movements. In addition to her first book, British Aestheticism and the Urban Working Classes, 1870-1900: Beauty for the People (Palgrave, 2006), she has published twenty articles in essay collections and journals. Most recently, she edited the 1896 slum novel A Child of the Jago for Broadview Press. At the University of Liverpool, Dr. Maltz will be pursuing research for her new book project, The Child in the House: Lifestyle Aestheticism, Visual Culture, and Family Identity, 1880-1910.

Commenting on receiving the Award, Dr. Maltz said, “I am honored to receive the Fulbright Scholar Award. Liverpool is a remarkable city for any scholar of Victorian Studies. Its libraries, art galleries, and university community are excellent resources for my research.”

The Fulbright Commission selects scholars through a rigorous application and interview process. In making these awards the Commission looks not only for academic excellence but a focused application, a range of extracurricular and community activities, demonstrated ambassadorial skills, a desire to further the Fulbright Program and a plan to give back to the recipient’s home country upon returning.

Nearly 300,000 extraordinary women and men from all over the world have had their lives changed as participants in the Fulbright Program. Of these alumni, approximately 15,000 UK nationals have studied in the US and 12,000 US nationals in the UK on Fulbright educational exchange programs.

Notable alumni of the US-UK Commission include: Malcolm Bradbury, novelist; Liam Byrne, politician; Milton Friedman, economist and Nobel Prize Winner 1976; Charles Kennedy, politician; John Lithgow, actor; Tarik O’Regan, composer; Sylvia Plath, poet; Lord William Wallace, politician; Ian Rankin, novelist; Sir Christopher Rose QC, judge; Baroness (Shirley) Williams, politician; Vanessa Heaney, journalist BBC World Service; and Toby Young, journalist and playwright.

The Commission is funded partially by the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills in the UK and the US Department of State, with additional support coming from a variety of individual and institutional partners including many leading UK universities and an annual contribution from the Scottish Government.

For More Information:

[icitspot id=”806″ ]

Leave a Reply